Famous Medals Minted by Medallic Art

Medallic Art is a world-leader in producing the world’s most distinguished awards medals, including:

The National Medal of Science

national medal of science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals in science and engineering who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the fields of behavioral and social sciences, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and physics.

The National Medal of Science depicts Man, surrounded by earth, sea, and sky, contemplating and attempting to understand Nature. The crystal in his hand represents the Universal Order, and also suggests the basic unit of living things. The formula being outlined in the sand symbolizes scientific abstraction.

The National Medal of Science was established August 25, 1959, by an act of the Congress of the United States. President John F. Kennedy awarded the first medal on February 18, 1963, for the year 1962. The award went to Theodore von Karman for his work at the Caltech Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Although provision is made for 20 recipients per year, typically approximately 12 to 15 accomplished scientists and engineers receive this distinction. Individuals are nominated by their peers, each nomination requiring three letters of support from individuals in science and technology. Final selection is made by the Committee of the National Medal of Science, a board composed of twelve scientists, the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, and the President of the National Academy of Sciences.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal

caldecott award medal

In the United States, receiving the Randolph Caldecott Medal is the highest honor an artist can achieve for children’s book illustration. Established in 1937, this medal is given to the artist who has created the most distinguished picture book of the previous year. It accompanies the prestigious Newbery Medal which is awarded for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal is awarded by the American Library Association and was named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott. Caldecott’s illustrations for children were unique to their time in both their humor and in their ability to create a sense of movement, vitality, and action that complemented the stories they accompanied.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal itself captures that vitality. Rene’ Paul Chambellan designed the medal in 1937, inspired by one of Caldecott’s illustrations for “The Diverting Story of John Gilpin,” showing John Gilpin astride a runaway horse, scattering squawking geese, chased by yelping dogs, and waved at by startled onlookers.

Significantly, the recipient of the Randolph Caldecott Medal is memorialized on the reverse of the medal with engraved name and date of award.

The Pulitzer Prize Medal

pulitzer prize medal

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. medal awarded for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. Above all, the Pulitzer Prize is an award medal of Distinction.

Pulitzer Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one different categories, recipients having specifically displayed meritorious Distinction in their field of excellence.

In twenty of these categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The Public Service category winner is awarded a gold medal, which always goes to a newspaper.

The Pulitzer Prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher. Pulitzer founded the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and bought the New York World; and upon his death in 1911, he left money to Columbia University in New York City, which administers the prize. The first Pulitzer Prize was granted in 1917, and continues today as one of the most coveted awards in the world.

Famous recipients of the Pulitzer Prize include President John F. Kennedy, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Robert Frost, Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, and Rodgers and Hammerstein. Notable winners of more than one Pulitzer Prize include David McCullough, Robert Frost, Eugene O’Neil, Edward Albee, Norman Mailer, William Faulkner, and John Updike.

The George Foster Peabody Award Medal

peabody award medal

The George Foster Peabody Awards medals recognize distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by TV and radio stations, networks, producing organizations, individuals, and the world wide web. The awards program was named for George Foster Peabody, a native Georgian, industrialist, financier and major benefactor of the University of Georgia, which administers the awards medals.

The Peabody Awards honor distinction and achievement within the fields of broadcast journalism, documentary film making, educational and children’s programming, and entertainment. The first medals were awarded in 1941 for radio programs from the previous year, they are one of the oldest honors in electronic media. Television programs first received awards in 1948. Cable television was first recognized in 1981.

Each year, from more than one thousand entries, the Peabody Board selects by unanimous vote the most outstanding works. Though there is no set number of medals awarded, no more than 36 medals have ever been presented in a single year.

Minted with Pride in the United States of America

Our craftspeople work with you on every detail to help you create a medal that is unique and special to your organization.

If you can imagine it, Medallic Art's artisans can create it.

» Return to the Top of the Page


Contact Us | Request a Quote | Site Map

» View Our Catalogues

© 2017 Medallic Art Company | All Rights Reserved
Medallic Art Company is a division of Northwest Territorial Mint
Northwest Territorial Mint® is a registered trademark of
Northwest Territorial Mint, LLC
Privacy Policy